My fitness progress, after a short break

Well, I’ve figured out what to do on my one night of peace and quiet… waste my data on Facebook, which isn’t so bad since it expires tomorrow anyway. I’ve shared on my gym progress a few times now so I figured I might as well do so again, since I’ve changed my direction a little.

After my car accident and then while not having a car for over a month, I couldn’t go to gym. That was because Uber is too expensive to use every day, so most of the time I caught a lift with a neighbour, and arrived at work at exactly 8AM. I get there before 6AM for gym, and before 7AM on the days when I don’t gym, so there just wasn’t time. And of course I’m lazy… I could have gone running on the road but I just didn’t.

So last week I resumed working out, but have changed my routine and my goal. This is my current routine:

  1. Run for 25 minutes on the treadmill, at 9.5km/h.
  2. Cycle for 10 to 15 minutes, without any fixed speed or tension – just try to keep going without exhausting myself.
  3. Walk around the track for about 10 minutes, as fast as I can, until I lose interest.

Last weekend I was surprised to discover that I could still run for 25 minutes in one go, but it led to some aches and pains in the two days after… But three workouts later and all that pain is gone. 25 minutes may not sound too impressive, but considering that a year ago, I couldn’t even run for two minutes without feeling half dead, it’s good enough. I’m happy with my progress. I’m still overweight (though not as much as I was), but that’s where my new goal comes in…

I’m not interested in building muscle, not any more. I’m naturally well built anyway. Always have been. When I was younger and lost weight from running, I looked pretty great. Yah, that sounds narcissistic as fuck. Sorry (not sorry). I want that back. I used to go into some random pub when I was in my twenties, and next thing I knew, there’d be two hot women playing with my hair, platting it and so on. Even though I was as shy as anyone could be, they came to me. Well, I can’t have my hair back, but maybe I can have a body something like I used to. A man can dream. Some attention from women would be great too. I don’t want to pick anyone up, and to be honest I am asexual these days and happy to stay that way, but feel that looking good and feeling good about myself, with a bonus effect of good health, would be awesome.

So my objective is to have a flat stomach by my 46th birthday in October, and I think it’s a realistic goal.

I’m concentrating mostly on the running, because I love running. It was always my favourite exercise. When I was younger I thought nothing of running for 45 minutes every day, but I’ll get there again. I’ll add 5 minutes onto my time whenever I feel ready, and take time off the other exercises.

Today Josh went to gym with me, and he managed to go 9 minutes on the treadmill next to mine. He doesn’t listen though… I tell him not to run fast but to run slowly for a long time, because that’s what I do when training – I pick a speed that I can maintain, then maintain it for as long as I can… a pace that I can keep going at without getting out of breath or changing my stride. Right now I’m at the point where I could probably add on a few minutes, but I want to make sure I can do so easily, so I’ll probably rather increase the number of weekdays that I go to the gym. Anyway, Josh tires himself out by running too fast. At the end of today’s workout, he’d joined me on the track, so I suggested that we run the last lap. I told him not to go fast but to take the same pace as me for the whole lap, but instead he ran ahead trying to show off. So I sprinted. Left him more than half the track behind me. I might just incorporate sprinting into my routine from now on – walk or jog one lap, then sprint one, and so on. It was great to discover I can still sprint.

I shall now resume my Facebooking. Good night.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My fitness progress, after a short break

  1. bbnewsab says:

    How about High Intensity Training (HIT), Jerome?

    Read about HIT here: http://www.bbc.com/news/health-17177251

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

