Secular AA. What’s the point?

Someone just pointed this out to me on Facebook.

SecularAA

I don’t get it. I don’t believe you can take god out of the 12 steps. Maybe that’s not what they do?

The funny thing is, I used to attend an NA meeting in the same place, at the same time, on Thursdays, a few years ago. (An embarrassing moment, from 2011 or 2012 I think… I once went there high, after stopping off at McDonalds on the way. As I wolfed down the burger before the meeting, someone asked how long I was clean. “About half an hour”, I replied. It was a full meeting, and in the break, I sat outside and watched the stationary cars sliding up and down in the parking lot, as I listened to a guy named Craig tell me that I’d end up “sucking cock” to get my drug, and laughing in his face. Poor guy. I wasn’t a nice person on meth, and didn’t have patience to explain to him that we don’t all go that far.)

I might go there next week just to fuck with them – share and make my case for why I reject step one, which makes all twelve steps worthless in my opinion. Then again, according to the image below (shared with me on Facebook) they do encourage expressing your disbelief. Of course my disbelief is quite a can of worms… I reject not only the woo, but also that addiction is a disease.

WeAgnostics

If I do go, I’ll report back and give them a “review”. I might attend just once, to see what it’s about, as I am not interested in meetings. Of course, I might be pleasantly surprised, and meet a group of free thinking skeptics and atheists like myself.

I don’t mean to be overly dismissive. I don’t need meetings. I wonder if most former addicts do? If that’s the case, and most do not think of themselves as former addicts as I do, then secular meetings could be exactly what many need. Too bad it’s only AA, not NA.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Recovery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

