I had a car accident last Friday

I don’t even know what to say, but feel like I have to write something.

So I was driving to work at around 6:40Am on Friday, when I reached a point in the road where all the other cars stopped suddenly in front of me. I wasn’t even doing more than about 40 km/h. I hit the brakes, but in the rain and mud (I’ll get to why there was mud on the road in a bit), the car could not stop. It would have slid right into the other cars.

With less than a second to react, I did the only thing I could… There were oncoming cars so I couldn’t go over to the other side of the road, thus I had a simple choice: Crash into the cars in front of me, or veer off to the left and off the road. The problem was that there were roadworks on the left, in the form of a large hole, surrounded by concrete slabs and thin metal poles. Without any other options, I went left, and hit the roadworks with the left side of the car. This was just before a junction and the car then came to a stop at the junction, so I hadn’t hit any other cars.

When I got out of the car, there was a pedestrian lying next to the hole. He had been hit and thrown over it. He was lying in mud with his head stuck under a barrier. I ran from the car and helped him up. He’d hit his head on the barrier, but otherwise didn’t seem too bad. I took him to the closest hospital and then went to the police to report the accident.

I’m lucky the car can still drive, although there is some damage. I took it for an assessment yesterday, and am waiting for the quote from insurance today. In the meantime, I left the car at home – the left control arm under the wheel (whatever that is) is damaged, and the guy who assessed it recommends I leave the car at home until it gets fixed. I used Uber to get to work today, which cost me R96 one way. This is because my insurance doesn’t give me a courtesy car. This sucks. I don’t know how I can afford to keep using Uber. It might be cheaper to rent a car anyway.

Edit: I intended to explain why there was mud on the road, but forgot… Besides the roadworks which are next to the road, there is also a trench that was dug across it, about half a meter wide and I don’t know how deep. They filled it with sand, which turned to mud in the rain. So it’s a big fucking hole going right across the road, and that’s why everybody stopped, then slowly made their way over the trench. The hole next to the road is also surrounded by mud, so the whole road was covered in water and mud.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I had a car accident last Friday

  1. bbnewsab says:

    Sounds a bit like the trolley dilemma: http://www.trolleydilemma.com/ .

    Where were your guardian angels? Why did God allow this to happen? Maybe He wants you to become a devote believer? Perhaps He just gave you a sign and you don’t understand this?

    Seriously speaking. How are you today? Feeling a bit shaky? Any bruises? How about the man you drove to a hospital? Have you been in contact with him this week?

    In Sweden you would have been able to sue the roadwork company and have them paying for your damaged car. According to your account most of the responsibility for what happened lies on them.

    Try some prayers – and I’ll support you by blowing my nose, Jerome. :o)

    Thank God you’re still alive and able to work. Amen. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jerome says:

      He is well enough to call me and bother me about money, so I think he’ll be fine. I messaged him the contact details of the insurance company, so his bills will be paid.

      I was shaken up for a couple of days, but am feeling Okish now. What messes things up for me is that the panel beater company, which has already been paid by the insurance, can only book my car in for next Wednesday. It cost me R96 to get here to work via Uber this morning. That twice a day is going to be really expensive. Don’t know how I’m going to manage. Plus the Excess on the insurance is R4400, which means I must pay that amount.

      And work has been really shitty lately. It’s like everything goes wrong at the same time.

      And yes, almost like the trolley problem. I didn’t see the pedestrian though, but even if I had, my choice not to crash into the other cars and possibly kill myself was a no-brainer.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bbnewsab says:

    Any news since last update?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jerome says:

      My car only goes in to the repair centre on Wednesday… Until then, I am getting a lift with a neighbour. Turns out there is a guy who lives in the same complex as myself, who works in the same building. I get to work later and leave earlier for the time being, which means I don’t have that hour before work I normally use for writing on my blog, but at least I’m not paying all that money for Uber.

      I haven’t heard back from the pedestrian since I gave him the insurance details. I’m guessing he is doing fine.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You made the right choice and you’re a hero in my books for what you did for that man. 💙

    Liked by 2 people

  4. bbnewsab says:

    Yes, Jerome shows good behavior without being a God believer himself.

    That should be impossible according to theistic God believers. They mean that atheists must be evil people.

    Jerome’s behavior (and now I also think of his taking care of his son Josh) refutes that kind of religious bullshit thinking/believing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. How are you feeling now?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

