Something a little less serious

I hate being serious all the time. It’s fucking depressing. So I thought I’d share this silly meme that I shared on Facebook, with my line – also because I thought my line added on my Facebook share (above the image here) is so fucking witty and clever, and I’m disappointed that only one person liked it… Yeah, quoting myself is probably not cool. So what?

Sharing about your oversharing because I need closure on your disclosure.

closure

There is a serious angle to this, of course. So many project this perfect image of their lives, like every night is date night… every day involves sitting around the swimming pool sipping white wine… every day at work is mentally stimulating and rewarding. Meanwhile, their lives are just as shitty as those of us who don’t have swimming pools and can’t afford wine.

Life is shit sometimes, for all of us. You don’t have to pretend otherwise.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Humour. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something a little less serious

  1. bbnewsab says:

    I quote from your insightful blog post, Jerome:

    Life is shit sometimes, for all of us. You don’t have to pretend otherwise.

    I just want to add: But on Facebook most of us are liars. At least sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

