No atheists in foxholes, huh? Tell that to my atheist friend with terminal cancer.

Yesterday I read a status by a Facebook friend – this is someone who I have never met – who opened up about her cancer recurrence, her diagnosis of bone marrow cancer, and that three separate experts gave her three months to live, over a month ago. She also expressed her determination to keep on fighting.

I didn’t comment on her status. Others did, with messages of affirmation and that she can beat it, that she mustn’t give up and so on. I didn’t because I really don’t know what to say. I could tell her how strong she is, but she already knows that. Everything I thought of saying felt wrong, meaningless, not enough… Not worthy of writing.

She has also started campaigning for donations for a wheelchair, so that she can go back to work. She amazes me – her strength and determination in the face of such adversity is admirable, and worthy of respect.

And her reaction to her dire situation is such a stark contrast to that projected by so many theists in their arguments with us. No, she did not suddenly start to believe in magic, just because she knows that she may likely die soon. To project your belief, your inability to comprehend disbelief, on others… is pathetic.

So here’s to my friend – I admire and respect her, and if there is any chance that she can still beat the cancer, I hope she does.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Cancer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

