Thieves deserve death

I’m taking the time to write a blog post at lunch time, something I don’t normally do in work hours, but I am absolutely fucking livid…

My cellphone was stolen this morning, from a locked locker in the changing room at gym. The thief somehow opened the locker without damaging it or unlocking the lock, removed my phone from the bag, and closed the locker again.

As unbelievable as that sounds, this is even more hard to believe: It has happened before, several times. This I was told from the woman working at reception, and it was confirmed by her manager. There are valuables lockers under constant camera surveillance, which I should use in future… But that doesn’t help me now! If they knew this can happen, they could ensure that all gym members know how probable this is. Surely?

I only noticed it was missing after I left the gym and was walking to the office. Despite my clear memory of putting the phone in the bag as I got out of my car, I ended up doubting myself and looking everywhere for it. But it’s gone. It’s still on, but the thief switched off mobile data. So I’m guessing it must be somebody who works in the gym. They’re still there, and probably put the phone on silent.

To make matters worse, I use the phone as my router at home, so I have no internet connection without it. And I’ll be on leave next week. Megan and Aishah are coming to stay with us for a bit and now I don’t even have anything to take photos. And although I am getting a small increase this month, I have been struggling so much financially that I have not been able to collect my new contact lenses for three months. I bought that phone cash, and don’t have a few thousand Rand to shell out for a new phone, not this time of year.

This drives me nuts. In my nine years or so of addiction, I never stole anything from anyone. If I could get hold of that thief, I’d gladly use my four months or so of gained strength and fitness from the gym to beat them to a bloody pulp. I’m not exaggerating. I’d beat him until he’s unconscious and then beat him some more. I hate thieves in general, but when they steal from me, my property that I worked so heard to buy, it takes my hatred and anger to new levels. Plus I forgot to take my hypertension medication this morning, which makes this so much worse. This happened around seven hours ago and I am still shaking with anger.


I really mean it about hating thieves. People have tried to mug me in the past, and I hurt them. After I was robbed at gunpoint once in my twenties (when I worked part time in a bank), I swore “Never again”. If somebody tries to rob me and they have a weapon, I will take that weapon from them and use it against them. But I have no defence, no way of fighting someone who steals my stuff when it is not in my presence, and that makes it so much worse. Thieves are cowards. They are scum, and they deserve to fucking be killed.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

