This blog is now more popular than my other one… Thanks to you!

It sounds cheesy, I suppose, but I think it’s cool.

Wow… My recovery, atheism, and skepticism (and everything else on my mind) blog has finally overtaken my programming blog, in terms of daily views.

It’s taken a while to get here, considering the first post was on 19 April 2015.
The first post on the other blog was on 10 January 2013. (Yes, when I was using meth.)

It’s been a little weird competing with (some pretty good) posts written by the old me while tweaking on meth – I mean the older ones on the programming blog of course, and it’s good to see that the sober me is now more popular than the high me.

This blog: https://skepticalexaddict.wordpress.com

The other one: http://psycodedeveloper.wordpress.com

Also, this blog now has more content – 275 posts, compared to the programming one at 155 posts.

It’s been weird and sometimes frustrating to see that posts on the programming blog remained more popular than this one for a long time, despite the fact that I put a lot of effort into these, and very little into the programming ones… often it would be so for months at a time, even when I wrote nothing on there.

Then there’s that embarrassing header image on the programming blog… I tweaked for many hours in Photoshop to come up with it… Too many. Plus the actual name of that blog is a stupid pun… I was the king of stupid puns and senseless rhymes when I was high.

To be clear, I used to put effort into that blog, back in 2013 when I started it while still tweaking. But like most everything back then, it was a matter of misdirected priorities and putting effort not where it needed to be, but where my obsessive nature led me for no particular reason… All that makes it a grim reminder of how much time I wasted. (Although there is plenty of content written on there since I cleaned up. I still add new posts there, but nowhere near as often as here.)

Neither of these blogs have become as popular as the other one (that I removed). But I’ll get there eventually…

It’s funny… over the years quite a few people have flattered my writing and my writing ability, and suggested I get into it more full-time. This kind of writing, I mean the usual subjects here, comes easily. It’s easy to write about something that I either am an expert in (like how to fuck up your life using methamphetamine) or something I am passionate about, such as skepticism or atheism. But I wouldn’t have a clue how to write fiction. How to build up a world that’s convincing, characters that are believable and a protagonist that’s likeable… My analytical brain can pick that shit apart when it’s written by others, but I don’t know if I could do it myself. Maybe one day…

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Meta and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This blog is now more popular than my other one… Thanks to you!

  1. bbnewsab says:

    And thanks to you as well, Jerome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

