So I pissed off some people when suggesting that the so-called white squatter camps don’t exist

A while back I wrote about the so-called white squatter camps, and some people were angry, mostly because I referred to people as trash. Specifically, because I referred to people as white trash. Yes, that was crass. It was also a generalization and was uncalled for.

Let’s get this straight… In South Africa, 12 million people live in extreme poverty. That’s bad, and it needs to be addressed. Here, you can find some statistics about poverty in this country.

Notice anything in there about white squatter camps? Poverty in general is a problem here, but why should it be important what colour the poor people’s skin is? Why is it that some people care so much about white poverty specifically? Shouldn’t we care about all poverty, especially when only a handful of the poor people here are white?

The point of my previous post was not to denigrate poor whites – it was to draw attention to the fact that the information shared on social media about white squatter camps, by my racist expat friend, cannot be trusted. I have one friend who shares that kind of nonsense over and over again, and it is annoying. And when I say nonsense, let me clarify… There are many websites that publish information with an agenda, racist websites run by white supremacists, who will tell you all about the oppression of white people in South Africa, gruesome tales of white farmers murdered in their hundreds, and these supposed white squatter camps. It’s a despicable message, not at all in line with reality, that confirms the fears of the white racists who ran away left the country. These sites tell you that you were right, apartheid is now in reverse, and that whites are being persecuted. White squatter camps are just one part of the narrative of nonsense presented by those sites.

But think about it… How can a settlement consist of only white people? A fraction of the millions of poor people in this country are white, yet somehow we read reports of communities of poor white people? It doesn’t make sense. I was a junkie years ago, and at my lowest point, I lived in a shelter for a few days. But it wasn’t only white people living there. For a community to consist of only white people in this day and age, it must be run by white people, who only allow white people to live there. Those places do exist, but they are not what those web sites claim. They’re more like trailer camps, run by white supremacists, exploiting poor whites. They are not what those websites make them out to be, because if they were, it would be covered by local media, not some right-wing conservatives with an agenda.

The people publishing those sites are the South African equivalent of Donald Trump supporters. (Morons.) The fact that they only write about white poverty indicates that they are racist. Make no mistake, this is not similar to Black Lives Matter, but for white people. This is not about equality. Much of the property and the money of this country is still in the hands of white people. White people here are still privileged. This is about white supremacist propaganda and an attempt to get support for their delusional cause, via pity.

I have never seen one of those camps. Give me the GPS coordinates of some of them in the Johannesburg area, and if they are real, I will go there myself and write about it. Until I see them for myself and have evidence that they are what some claim them to be, I will assume otherwise.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Skepticism, South Africa and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So I pissed off some people when suggesting that the so-called white squatter camps don’t exist

  1. manuel du mont says:

    Under the NATS,I was appalled by their Discriminatory legislations,& even tho I was subjected to Involuntary warfare……”fought” Apartheid, as best I cud . Now tho, I see nothing wrong, with Whites, or any other Minorities’ Self-Preservation activities .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jerome says:

      Yup. I was also forced to waste a year of my life in the old apartheid army. There, I was almost beaten up for refusing to stand at attention for the old national anthem, and I recall a lecture in riot training where we wee told, “The army is politically neutral. We support the government of the day. Our enemies are the kaffirs.”

      So much racism there – and now every white person claims they were never a racist. It’s just gone underground, and a part of it is the right wing propaganda publishing sites with bullshit about the “genocide” of white people (which isn’t happening) and these supposed white squatter camps.

      We have the right not to be oppressed, and in fact that isn’t an issue because we aren’t being oppressed. So anything about white self-determination or whatever the right wing boneheads call it, is really about white supremacy and racism.

      It’s sad that these trailer parks of poor whites exist – but they are not squatter camps. I feel bad that they have children in such places – those children should be removed.

      Like

    • Jerome says:

      So you were also conscripted into the apartheid army? When was that, and did you have to fight? I was lucky enough to be in the 2nd last intake, in 1990, and I was a chef there. But I still hated it; hated that I was forced to waste a year of my life there, hated the rampant racism, hated discovering that people in general are stupid. (They are. I was one of thousands of recruits, most of whom were idiots.) Came back with a serious attitude problem against all authority and everything Afrikaans. My attitude is probably still not 100% OK.

      Like

Leave a Reply

