How to clear all those annoying Windows jump lists

I found the solution on this page… just made a little batch file to make it easier. Apparently this works from Windows 7 up, but I have only run it on Windows 10.

I hate all those annoying Windows jump lists… OK, they can be useful at times, but I hate that whenever I right click my docked Live Writer shortcut, I get reminded of how much time I spent writing blog posts by an enormous jump list, where everything is duplicated for no apparent reason. So I Googled how to clear them, then took the solution and made this reusable batch file.

Save this text as, for example, ClearJumpLists.cmd. Or .bat. Run it by double-clicking, or if you don’t trust me, manually go to that directory either by Windows Key+R and then pasting the directory name, or go there in a command prompt, and verify for yourself that those files are safe to delete. And if you don’t trust that, well then, why are you reading this? Fuck off.

@echo off
pushd %APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\AutomaticDestinations
IF ERRORLEVEL 1 (GOTO :CrashAndBurn)
del /f /q *.*
popd

:CrashAndBurn
ECHO Directory doesn't exist... What the fuck?
ENDLOCAL

Edit: Of course this could all have been achieved with one line by including the path in the delete command, something like this… The short version:

DEL /f /q %APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\AutomaticDestinations\*.*

But the pattern used is a habit, and is more useful when doing something other than a blanket delete of all files in a directory.

Brought to you by my boredom… And yah, the pushd and popd commands are unnecessary I suppose – you could just as well use the CD command, but I used to write loads of batch files years ago, and pushing and popping to different directories became a habit, and was useful when calling a number of different batch files that needed to have different working directories, or when batch files had to call helper batch files that did shit in different directories and then the parent file carried on doing stuff in the original directory. It’s overkill here, of course.

I have no idea if that system directory might not exist. So just in case, I put in an error check, so that if the directory change fails, the batch file won’t delete all the files in whatever directory the default command prompt location might be. So that makes this batch file pretty safe.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Computer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

