Stop me if I repeat myself. Stop me if I repeat myself. Stop me if I repeat myself.

I don’t have anything much to write today, but a friend wrote something on Facebook that reminded me of this… She wrote “I friggin love to repeat myself. I friggin love to repeat myself”, and as I remembered, I caught myself almost writing something about myself on her status, which would have been rude and selfish.

A few years ago, when I was out of my mind on meth, I came up with this line, “Stop me if I repeat myself”. I would say it over and over again, for several minutes at a time, until the point when Megan either screamed or literally slapped me to make me stop.

Yes, I could be annoying back then, but this one was for a good cause. It was meant to be a joke, which was me ironically mocking my own behaviour at the time, because tweaking is a terrible thing… You get stuck compulsively repeating the same thing ad nauseam, like some computer software that got stuck in an invalid state leading to an infinite loop. So I was mocking myself, but also mocking her… It took a few minutes sometimes for her to snap out of her trip too, but it worked, with a side-effect of being annoying. (A small price to pay. Then again, there isn’t really a pleasant way of telling somebody that they’ve been acting like a zombie.)

Actually I had way too many witticisms in those days, most of which were not much good. This was one of the better ones.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Methamphetamine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

