Something positive for a change, and something else…

A quick note this morning… I haven’t been online the entire long weekend. (Yesterday was a holiday here in SA.) But I notice that one of my posts on meth voices has been getting quite a few comments.

Right now, I can only mention one of them… A girl named Jai, who commented on the post before, has managed to clean up and seems to be doing well. That’s great news and I hope she can continue to enjoy a life that’s drug-free, and learn to love herself again. It makes this all worthwhile, when I manage to reach somebody and hear about the results. Writing about my own meth addiction, and trying to give advice to others, can be a lonely experience. I think of it like talking into the abyss, and most of the time, I don’t get any feedback on whether or not it helps anybody. (And writing about it also forces me to remember some bad times, so sometimes I question whether it does any good.)

There have been some other comments on the same post… regarding EVP. Not something I know much about, but it involves, I think, listening to static (or maybe some of those “ghost box” type devices which really just give you random noise) and “hearing” voices in that static. I responded to someone who commented about this fairly recently, and now I see there are more comments.

Needless to say, I do not believe in EVP. So it’s difficult to respond to comments about it. The subject is interesting to me in that hearing voices in random noise is a type of pareidolia, and is very similar to the way meth voices start. Since I haven’t had time to read those comments yet, but they seem ambiguous from the preview, I’m uncertain how best to respond. I’m unclear on whether the commenter uses drugs, or just found my post because it happens to deal with a subject similar to their obsession. I’m hesitant though, to reply to somebody who hears voices and believes that they are real. I’m afraid to say too much, because if such a person is paranoid, anything I write could become part of their narrative.

So Tara, without having time to read your comments, all I can say is… I will. And I will try to respond appropriately, but right now I have to get to work.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Methamphetamine, Recovery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

