Never make the mistake of buying a JVC smart TV, model number JVC LT-55n935

Update: Flashing the TV with the Kogan firmware as per the instructions on the linked page worked perfectly. Now when it starts up, the Kogan logo is displayed instead of the JVC logo, but otherwise it is identical (minus the errors).

Of course, if I’d known that this was a rebranded Kogan TV, and not a JVC, I’d never have purchased it in the first place. But at least now it works properly.


About a year and a half ago, I bought my TV through Nuworld, organised by a neighbour who said he could get me a good price. (It was around R9000.) It was a huge mistake. I’ve had endless problems with the TV, that neighbour is long gone, and Nuworld are not helpful. I assume they know this TV has issues, as it isn’t difficult to find others online with identical problems.

It started with the TV freezing occasionally. Then it progressed to Android error messages being displayed modally on top of the screen, with helpful text such as “Unfortunately YouTube has stopped working” or “Unfortunately android.core.process has stopped working”. Hundreds of fucking error messages. But that isn’t even important anymore because now, most of the time the TV stops responding completely and I can’t even dismiss a single error message. Before it got to this point, it would restart all by itself, sometimes in a loop, and sometimes freeze on the startup screen.

It turns out that this is a rebranded Kogan TV. Tomorrow I’ll try flashing the TV with the firmware I found on this page. I need to buy a smaller USB drive first, one that I can format with FAT32, but I’m hoping it will work.

Nuworld “repaired” the TV twice while it was still under guarantee, so I’m assuming that all they did was flash it. This TV is junk. Don’t buy this model under any circumstances. But at least if flashing it works temporarily, I’ll keep the small drive with the TV firmware on it (and I can leave it in USB port 1 since I don’t normally use that port) and reflash the piece of shit every now and then.

I’ll update this post with the result, but I do have a strong feeling this will work. Otherwise I have one hell of a paperweight.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Never make the mistake of buying a JVC smart TV, model number JVC LT-55n935

  1. Paul g says:

    Hello my name is Paul and I have been doing meth with my wife for almost 21/2 months and I have never heard voices not once but I did have an episode that should have scared the he’ll out of me but didn’t I welcomed it so to speak and thought what was in my house was a spirit of sorts but turned out to some what help me I later found out my kidneys shut down and I had a seizures and spent three days in the hospital and came out after three days and went back to doing it again but
    Never once heard voices in my head

    Like

    • Jerome says:

      Congratulations on not hearing voices but I must ask you the run on sentences thing did you always do that or is it a skill you acquired while using meth because as far as I know most people prefer it when you use you know some fucking punctuation.

      Seriously, if you think spirits you see or hear on meth to be real, and type incoherent comments online, you’re delusional anyway, with or without hearing voices. The voices seem real… Not everybody who hears them knows that they are hearing voices in their heads, and they are only one of many symptoms that indicate meth is destroying your life. Trust me, the drug is bad for you, and its negative side-effects are severe.

      Like

  2. strider says:

    DUDE !!!! I have the same tv same problems and even more that would take days to list all the issues with this damn tv the kogan firmware seems to do the trick for a short while but i have seemed to figure out what causes the software to crash .

    when ever there is a power failure or the power fluctuates is causes the firmware to become corrupt and then you need to reflash the firmware . Nu world has provided me with firmware before but that firmware does not hold for very long before corrupting.

    it seems that the kogan is the most stable and reliable one for now .

    Nuworld has provided me with some “new” firmware today so we will see what happens there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jerome says:

      I think your analysis sounds about right. Our power is not too stable here and there are regular spikes. I’ve only been running the kogan firmware for a few days, and so far so good. But the lqast couple of times when Nuworld flashed it, the problems started reappearing gradually.

      But I keep the USB with the firmware handly. Noting else to do but flash it again when needed. Unless the chip being flashed fucks up for good, I suppose.

      Like

    • Lu Hawk says:

      Hi Strider,

      Is the “new” firmware they gave you still holding?

      Like

  3. Allan says:

    hi there, i have having the same issues with this tv and flushing it was the only hope.from the last power dip, it is not responding to the firmware . it sit on 2% for hours and does not progress at all. anyone out there who knows how to get it out of this state? please help.

    Like

  4. Joe Chris says:

    Thanks James. My problem is that when the Tv app is maximized, the sound is often distorted or no sound at all.
    Can this Kogan software solve the problem.

    Like

    • Jerome says:

      The sound going was one of the many problems I had. Along with all the other things, the TV stopped responding to the volume controls on the remote. Flashing the TV fixed all the issues for me. But the underlying problem seems to be that the software gets corrupt after a few power dips (or spikes or cuts)… I have flashed my TV twice since then. When it starts messing around again, I just reflash it. I dread getting to the point where flashing it fails though… Note the comment from Allan above.

      Like

  5. Emmanuel says:

    Thank you very much for this tip. It is quite unfortunate that one fell for this. I’m a Nigerian who bought the TV from a popular online mall JUMIA. Thought is was a JVC TV, was glad because it was black Friday and they offered a very good discount. Until about a year later, it got stuck at smart TV and didn’t go further, online search brought me to this page. It’s sad that the TV is not a JVC brand. I will never buy a JVC TV anymore and will make sure my business never buys as well including all affiliated company. Would send the memo out.
    By the way, the Kogan firmware is not as clear as the firmware tat came with the rebranded TV. Is there a way around it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jerome says:

      It works exactly the same for me as the JVC firmware, apart from the logo on startup.

      I think you probably changed the picture settings. It can be set to standard, vivid, or dynamic, I think.

      When you flash the TV, it resets everything. So after I flash mine (and I just did so again last weekend), I had to autotune the TV channels, change the aspect ratio of the TV picture to 4:3, change the auto-3D setting so that it plays my 3D blu-rays properly, and change the aspect ratio of the built in media player to “scaled zoom”; otherwise it stretches all videos it plays off my hard drive to 16:9 when using the default settings. I have to change all those things every time, which is a pain, but it’s better than a TV that just stops working.

      And I also feel cheated, having fallen for this. It sucks.

      Like

  6. dewald says:

    Same issue here. Would it be possible to remove Android completely from this model?

    Like

  7. Rennie Kayula says:

    I have broken 55″ JVC LED screen LT-55NU42. any source of replacement screen. renniekayula@yahoo.com +260978212123

    Like

  8. funshoj says:

    Good morning, please where can I download the firmware of JVC Model no. LT-47N935 and the step to flash it. Please help me @all, I need a fast response. Thanks

    Like

    • Jerome says:

      I only found the firmware for my one because it was mentioned in a few forums. Your best bet is to go back to wherever you bought it… (Or their section or company that deals with issues – half the time all they do is flash the TV anyway and then give it back.) They should be able to give you the JVC firmware. It’s exactly the same except for branding… I have flashed mine several times by now, and do it every month or two because my TV works for a while and then gradually starts fucking up again. It’s a pity because otherwise it is a perfectly functional TV, even for 3D.

      Like

  9. Kas says:

    Mine is also LT47N935, DID THE UPGRADE USING THE PROVIDED UPGRADE BUT IT STOPS AT 25% AND GO BACK TO THESAME ERROR LOADING PROBLEM. PLEASE WHAT DO I DO? youngkasco@yahoo.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

