Preachers, leave them sloths alone!

I don’t even like Pink Floyd, but I saw this meme and couldn’t resist…

sloth

Disclaimer:

  1. The seven deadly sins are not part of actual Biblical canon – I know. It’s still funny.
  2. When they write sloth, they don’t mean a literal sloth – I know. (It’s a pun.) It’s still funny.
  3. Many younger people might not catch the wordplay on the Pink Floyd lyric used by my title. (Lucky them!) I only know of that band because they used to play that shit on the radio all the time when I was in school in the eighties. I hate Pink Floyd. It’s still funny, and so is my wordplay, in my arrogant opinion.

If you find the origin of the seven deadly sins to be interesting, as I do, my research leads to conflicting answers:

  1. Maybe the seven deadly sins originated around the sixth century when Pope Gregory the Great tried to simplify the message of Christianity for the illiterate masses.  (source)
  2. Or maybe the idea came from a fourth century monk. (source)
  3. Or maybe this guy is right that Pope Gregory I came up with it in the year 1600 (source)… Around three hundred years after Dante wrote his epic poem? I don’t think so.

So while the meme may be quite facetious as it is constructed around a silly pun, the concept of the seven deadly sins is something that should face some criticism. They’re a Catholic thing that was invented either in the 4th or sixth century, or maybe the Middle Ages (in which case Dante knew about it because he had a time machine). Whatever, it’s not part of the source of the religion, their Bible, although like the horned devil and Caucasian Christ, it has crept into popular culture and is generally accepted as being part of the religion.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Humour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

