Dreams and cupcakes

Two unrelated subjects today…

Sometimes I can be stupid. Josh needed to take cupcakes to school. So yesterday I went to a bakery in the shopping mall where I work. But they told me they need 24 hours, and I had to collect the cakes at 7AM this morning, so stupid me agreed. Then on the way home last night, I realized that there was no way I could get those cupcakes to his school by 7:30AM, so I bought at a supermarket instead. So now I have 35 cupcakes for the weekend. It was supposed to be 31 for the class, 1 for the teacher, and 3 extra for myself, Josh and my mother at home. To make matters worse, Josh is sleeping over at his cousins tonight and will only return tomorrow evening. I guess I know what I’m eating this weekend.

Sleep is something I love, unlike my bad old days when I never slept. I have vivid dreams every night, although I seldom remember them. Some are like TV shows. They’re strange, adventurous, exciting and captivating. If I wake up to go to the toilet, I’m disappointed that the dream was interrupted, and sometimes continue them as soon as I return to bed. In the five minutes that I snooze my alarm every week-day, I usually return to a deep sleep and start another dream.

For once, I remember one of my dreams from last night… I was listening to a new song, by Andrew Eldritch, with a new band called Heartland. (A name borrowed from an old Sisters of Mercy song.) I wish I could remember the name of the song, because it was a play on words of some sort that I thought was really clever (without realizing that I must’ve made it up myself). And the song featured Jeremy Irons singing backing vocals. It was an amazing song, though of course the details are now lost. If only I could remember it…

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in General, Parenting, Relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dreams and cupcakes

  1. That is a lot of cupcakes. Cupcakes are one of my favourite things, but I lack self-control. I’m not sure I could have that many cupcakes in the house. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

