Another search about meth hallucinations

This one I’m not taking too seriously.
Someone asked via a web search that brought them here:

Why do you hear and see things on meth?

The short answer: Because meth fucks with your brain.

The not-so-short answer: Why do you need to know? That is, what difference does it make if you know the answer? Meth does that! Knowing the answer isn’t going to change anything, and if you continue to use meth, you will still live with the side-effects. Continue for long enough, and some of those side-effects (the voices) might become permanent. The short answer should really be enough… Knowing that meth is resulting in serious and unwelcome effects on your brain should be something that motivates you to stop using meth. (But it probably isn’t.) I’ve written about this subject before, and my best post on the subject is probably this one.

And now for a couple of silly anecdotes…

Although I suffered with severe auditory hallucinations (also known as voices in the head), I seldom experienced visual hallucinations. I’ll mention two of them.

One night, my girlfriend was away with her family. We’d had many dealings with a dealer (her ex) who was on the run from the police, because he had murdered someone. There was a vacant apartment across the road from us. When I looked out the window, I became convinced that every window there featured a man looking at me through binoculars. I imagined that it was the police, waiting for that guy to show up, and I became extremely paranoid and edgy. Of course it wasn’t real and she made me feel really stupid after she returned in the morning.

One day, I was driving on Prince George Drive in Cape Town. In my peripheral vision, I thought I saw the car to my left start to change into my lane, which would have caused an accident. So I made eye contact with the driver, and flipped him the finger as I swerved and accelerated away. He was an oldish colored man, I’d say in his early fifties, with a young girl sitting beside him. From the way she was dressed, this was not his daughter… And he became extremely angry, and gave chase. Fortunately he was not able to keep up. I was a driver who took great risks, driving too fast and dodging between the cars, and his car was a little old, so I lost sight of him quickly. It would have been less funny if things were otherwise.

In both of those cases, what I saw was not real. There were no men with binoculars at all, just some marks on a window across the road that the pattern-recognition part of my brain somehow interpreted as men watching me. There was no sideways movement of that car… Once again a little bit of movement in my peripheral vision triggered some kind of visual pareidolia, and on meth it became an hallucination. I learned to be more careful with responding to anything in my peripheral vision while on meth.

I’m making light of this, but hallucinations on meth should be taken seriously, especially the voices. Some visual hallucinations on meth, even when you have only recently started using, are normal. The voices are different. They start with pareidolia (as mentioned in the post I linked earlier), and then get worse over time. Once they start, they don’t stop until you stop using meth for good.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Methamphetamine, Recovery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

