White people are not being persecuted in South Africa

Recently I pissed somebody off, when writing about the so-called white squatter camps in South Africa. Maybe I shouldn’t have referred to poor white people as white trash. That wasn’t nice, but it doesn’t change the fact that white squatter camps are not what they appear to be.

Ask yourself:

  1. Why is it that the only place you hear about those camps is via social media, linking to dubious sites that ask for donations?
  2. How is it that 20 years after the fall of apartheid, we have “whites only” societies?

I’m not saying that those places don’t exist. They do. But they are not what they seem.

Currently there are many articles being shared that claim white people are being persecuted, raped, murdered and so on here on a grand scale. These articles about white squatter camps fall into that category. They’re shared by racists – by white supremacists, who would like to have us believe that the situation of apartheid has been reversed. They’re shared by right-wingers who for whatever reason, seem to enjoy the fear-mongering. They prey on the confirmation bias of white racists and also expats, who are only too keen to believe that their fears have come to pass.

The fact is, this persecution of white people is not happening. See this article on AfriCheck about it.

The situation in South Africa is bad… we are approaching junk status financially, and our government is more corrupt than it ever was, but let’s stick to reality, not irrational, racist fears.

And white poverty is on the increase, but that is expected. I remember about 25 years ago… There were many unskilled white people who worked for the railway or in local government administration, people who had government subsidies and “nice” housing at the expense not only of us taxpayers, but also the vast majority of the populace. Those unskilled white people don’t get such benefits any more, and so it should be. This is Africa.

And to Eugene: I’m white. I can’t be a racist against white people. That doesn’t make sense. You have valid points, in that it was unfair of me to refer to any people as trash. And I wrote about those squatter camps without knowing all the facts. (I don’t need all the facts. When I recognize that something is shared to appeal to the emotions of white racists, and to get their money, facts don’t matter.) It’s fair to criticize me for not having the facts, but cut out the ad hominem. You didn’t provide any factual information either, and contributed nothing other than contradiction and some trolling. This is my blog. I don’t have to allow your hateful comments. I can delete them, or edit them if I want to. If you have something useful to write, do so, otherwise you’re just being annoying.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Skepticism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to White people are not being persecuted in South Africa

  1. Eugene says:

    Jerome, you did not piss me off, not even close. At least I got you to see that certain people are not trash just because you said so. I further acknowledge also that yes, this is your blog and yes you could delete my replies and all the other things you can do as well. However, you made a statement in your first blog that was devoid of substance. Your website allowed me on your blog to reply to it, which is what I did, nothing more.

    I did not look you up, unfortunately your site popped up when I researched poverty levels in South Africa.

    I also disagree with your statement that you can not be a rasist. But that is my opinion from one man to another.

    Hateful comments against you, wow?

    You ask what a contribution I can make. Well I actually help people in need and I do not care what colour they are or in what grouping they choose to live. I do not just blog about it but actually do something about it.

    I will continue to help fellow South Africans and ask you to visit any camp to see for yourself. So to delete me off your blog or not is of no importance to me and will have no effect on what I am doing.

    Think it is clear to say that you and I will not see eye to eye on this topic. Turn your anger into something positive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jerome says:

      I consider “a confirmed idiot” to be hateful. It’s ad hominem, attacking me rather than my argument.

      Racism is prejudice against a race. I’m prejudiced against bigots, including racists. Yah, I do feel empathy for the children of those people in the so called white squatter camps, but not their parents.

      I once stayed in a shelter… it was only for three days and was many years ago, before I cleaned up. But it wasn’t whites only. It shocked me that anybody could post stuff about white squatter camps, with the clear agenda of evoking pity from white people who are racist. I’m skeptical of their intentions, because they are trying to gain money through appeals to emotion, and gain readers through playing on the fear of certain people.

      My issue was never with being anti the poor – I’m anti the type of people who would exploit them, and play on the fears of the white people who are racist. It gets to me when friends who are no longer even in the country post bullshit about the persecution of white people, which is based on lies and half-truths they read on social media and share without thinking rationally.

      So my choice of words may have been poor, but that was never the intention.

      Like

    • Jerome says:

      Also, I suck at apologizing. The above is about as close as I get before going off on a tangent and disagreeing anyway.

      Like

Leave a Reply

