Sorry for the sarcasm

My brother made an excellent point to me last week… when I mentioned in a Facebook status that I really need to work on my choice of words (when asking people questions out of genuine curiosity, and accidentally then instigating them to be defensive). I tend to be sarcastic, often even in my writing here. (Although I wasn’t being sarcastic in the comments I had in mind. It doesn’t matter, because sarcasm often is relevant.) And tone doesn’t always come across well in written work, so sometimes when I’m being sarcastic (or maybe facetious when I aim for sarcasm and miss completely), it comes across aggressive or arrogant. Maybe this is especially the case with people who don’t know me, and think that my conclusions to argumentative posts are aggressive or arrogant, when they’re really meant to include a little bit of humour… So my sarcasm is just supposed to be funny! I thought it was obvious… Maybe not?

But even verbal sarcasm doesn’t always go as intended. Why is it, I wonder, that people so often don’t get sarcasm? It’s fucking annoying you know, when I say something really devastating, and at the very fucking least, I expect someone to burst into tears. At least! But instead, they stare back at me blankly.

So this is my new policy: Although I still refuse to use sarcasm tags (Urgh! Like… some statement </sarcasm>), I’ll apologise for the sarcasm right afterwards. It’s totally insincere of course, but at least the apology is like a label: What he just said was sarcastic. You should feel stupid now. Have a nice day, fucker.

Something like this:

SorryForTheSarcasm

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Humour and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

