Spoon of god, you take away the porridge of the world. Pour milk on us.

Yes, I’m mocking Christianity again, and I’m not sorry. (Actually I have more important things to write about, but do not have the time to write them. I’m sharing this because I find it both funny and baffling.)

What is it about some of the faithful that they must post absolute nonsense to debate groups? There is no debate with them when they are well and truly beyond any chance of rational thinking.

I present exhibit A. Keep in mind that this was shared to a debate group, with people who do not believe in any god. Atheist members may have come from popular religions, or they may be among those lucky enough never to have been indoctrinated in the first place. So the only argument that any of us would ever like to see is one that contains actual evidence for one of the gods that theists claim exists, not mindless comments like this. The OP was this:

People are swords and utensils to God. That being said, I believe that every culture is inspired to God through there own prophets so that God can have tools to use. Like any maker of things, tools have a wide variety of usages. With so many cultures professing their God as the right one I think it’s fair to assume that God needs a wide range of peoples to make His point come across the right way. I think it’s important to note that Christ is the only way to get to God and that people who don’t know Him will never fully understand their purpose in God. We are swords and utensils to God. Let’s make ourselves into a special utensil…

The grammar alone pisses me off. Whoever wrote it doesn’t seem to know the difference between there and their. Also, he doesn’t know how to use commas. Despite those issues, the above is probably one of the better pieces of grammar I’ve seen from the believers. So let’s ignore the grammar…

To prove that I didn’t maker this up, here’s a screen-grab, minus the names and group name.

spoonofgod

What do you even say to that? Of course everybody who replied was being sarcastic… But as funny as the nonsense may be, I’m starting to get sick and tired of it all. There is no debate with people like this.

I suppose one potential question and comment that could be directed in response to this, if I actually wanted to continue discourse with the person – which I do not, is this: So this god created us all, the entire world and all people, all animals, all plants, and everything, as well as everything in the rest of the universe too… What kind of tools does this almighty creator need, and why would he need them crafted out of his creations, which he created from nothing? Clearly the post is one of those feel-good believer type statements, one that might sound profound and meaningful to those who already believe, but the statements themselves do not really say anything.

The post also contradicts itself. It states that every culture is inspired to god through its own prophets (again let’s ignore “inspired to god” and assume it means “by god”), then later states that Christ is the only path to god. Can’t have it both ways, moron… If every culture’s prophets are valid, then every culture’s religion is valid too, and you have argued yourself into corner. But of course, having contradictory beliefs is something that every theist lives with, and even accidentally writing them in the same paragraph will not be enough for said theist to be aware of his cognitive dissonance.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Skepticism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spoon of god, you take away the porridge of the world. Pour milk on us.

  1. bbnewsab says:

    You seem surprised, Jerome – or?

    Maybe you should read more about religious woo-bullshit thinking here: https://aeon.co/users/gordon-pennycook#!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bbnewsab says:

    You seem surprised, Jerome – or?

    Maybe you should read more about religious woo-bullshit thinking here: https://aeon.co/users/gordon-pennycook#!

    And yes, there is a rather strong correlation between dyslexia and belief in woo bullshit.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jerome says:

    In case anyone thinks my title is too silly (OK, it is silly), I am mocking a chant I remember from the Roman Catholic church of my childhood:

    Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world, have mercy on us.
    Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world, have mercy on us.
    Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world, grant us peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

