After stopping using meth, for how long will I be hearing voices?

This is a very good question, asked by someone via a search… I have written about it before:

  1. Meth-induced voices in your head start with pareidolia.
  2. Do you still hear voices after you stop using meth?

For me, it was about two to three days. I gather it is different for everybody, and actually back when I used, nobody else was ever honest with me about hearing voices themselves.

One bit of advice I can give you is that once you stop, don’t start again. Easier said than done of course, but as someone who tried to stop many times before getting it right, I can tell you how unpleasant it is to try stopping, get it right for a few days and go through days of detox and complete physical as well as mental fatigue, and having the voices disappear, only to resume using again, over and over and over. The first few days clean are gruelling and extremely difficult. At one stage I tried to quit and went through that process about twice every month.

To try and then fail so many times was debilitating. I felt like I could never get it right, like there was no hope. I started to see myself as useless and a failure, someone who was defeated by a stupid little packet of crystals that had taken over my life. And every time I told people that I was clean, only to screw it up yet again, led to mistrust. People didn’t believe me anymore. So my advice to you is, don’t start using again after the voices disappear. They return pretty quickly, and besides it being highly unpleasant to put yourself through that cycle over and over, it leads to other people, and more importantly, yourself, losing any confidence that you still have. And if you do try and then still fail, no matter how many times, don’t give up. I didn’t give up, and today I am so glad that I kept trying.

If you can follow my advice, not give up, and don’t start using again, the voices will soon be a distant memory. (And then…You probably have far more important issues to be taking care of than voices in your head. But as long as you have them, you are not mentally capable of dealing with your real issues. You waste time trying to tell what’s real and what’s imaginary. After you stop using and the voices disappear, you can start focusing on your real issues and get on with your life.)

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Methamphetamine, Recovery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

