AHS Season 5, episode 12 is a huge let-down

Just a quick one this evening… I’ve been watching American Horror Story, season 5. (I download them. Torrents are typically online the same day they play.) It kind of sucks that I caught up with the current episodes during the break over Christmas – meaning that I have to watch only one episode a week, but what sucked even more was that after this wait for this week’s episode, which I watched a couple of days late because my chance to watch it was tonight while my son stays over with his cousins… it was a huge fucking disappointment.

I mean, really, it was a terrible let-down. Episode 12 was simply sentimental shit. It was 49 minutes of tedium. It’s supposed to be horror, for fuck’s sake! They really fucked it up. It’s almost like they made it up as they went along, accidentally killing off all the main characters too soon, then had to pad the rest of the episodes to fill up the rest of the season. This was, up until a couple of episodes ago, thoroughly entertaining and interesting. Not anymore. Episode 13 is probably going to be rubbish too. Unlike most people, I have no problem with putting down a book without finishing it, or abandoning the rest of a series, or walking out of a movie, if it isn’t worth reading or watching to the end. This one is not.

I won’t give too much away, but episode 12 is primarily about the transgender character, “Liz Taylor”, played by Denis O’Hare. It’s a sympathetic portrayal, and O’Hare often steals the show… You can’t help but like the character. But this episode is mostly about that character, and the tone, the music that has come to accompany that character’s theme, is present throughout, in a story that dribbles the sentimental tears from beginning to end. There are the usual creepy elements too, but not enough for a horror show. And there’s some cheesy humour towards the end, followed by one last moment of sentiment. It’s almost good, for a comedy/drama, but fails miserably at even remotely resembling horror.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

