Contrived inspiration is contrived

Just a meme today…

Somebody shared this “inspirational” meme, and I couldn’t help but reshare it with my own sarcastic comment, one that intends to show how contrived and meaningless these types of messages really are.

And the first to ask, “Who farted?”, is he who farted…

first

Seriously, annotating bullshit with “True story” doesn’t make it less bullshit.

  • Apologizing is a good thing. In what context does it matter to apologize first?
  • Forgiveness may make you strong, but not always wise. It can lead to tragedy.
  • The first to forget? The happiest? Ignorance is bliss.
About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Humour and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Contrived inspiration is contrived

  1. Jerome says:

    A Facebook friend reminded me that the message in those motivational messages is about spreading positivity, not about truth, and that I shouldn’t be so cynical about everything. It would do me good to see the positive in things.

    He has a point, I suppose. Yet I can’t help my response to things like the motivational message in question. Positivity is one thing, but when it comes in the absence of truth, it just doesn’t feel right to me. So whenever I see such statements (sometimes mixed with Barnum statements), I can’t help calling bullshit. Why can’t motivational statements be actual truths? I’d rather read something profound that makes me think than read copy-and-pasted pseudoprofound bullshit…

    Like

Leave a Reply

