Is this for real? (Learn to speak Americanish)

I’ll just put this here…

Now that you’ve watched it, do you think it’s for real? Poe’s Law tells us we can’t tell. If it’s parody, it’s good parody; otherwise I pity the girl.

But at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter. She makes a good point, whether it’s deliberate (and I like to think it is) or not. Not about language, but about the mind-set of many Americans, who grow up in a bubble where everything is American, and wind up thinking that everything in the world originated there, including language and religion.

I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve read comments by Americans who think that Christianity is a (white) American religion. It’s a Middle Eastern religion…

It’s especially ironic at this time of year, when Christian Americans prepare their nativity scenes, with their pink little figurines of Mary, Joseph and Jesus… Those same Americans who are opposed to the immigrants.

The fact is, Mary and Joseph would not have gone by those English names 2000 years ago, and they were as brown as the immigrants you would prefer to turn away.


Maybe worthwhile adding for clarification… I didn’t write this to dismiss Americans. The US is the world leader, and so they are citizens of the leading first-world country. That there are so many who are ignorant is depressing… surely it does not bode well for countries like my country of birth, South Africa? If there are so many ignorant idiots in the US, how many of my fellow citizens here are even worse? Surely the vast majority…

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Humour, Skepticism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

