A meme I disagree with… Don’t blame the system for your ignorance

My cousin posted this meme on Facebook… I happen to agree with most of her posts, but not this one. (Sorry, Michelle.) Since I haven’t had much motivation to write anything lately, I’m happy to find something in this though…

12195818_914833081904385_8230321979240616334_n

What is the meme trying to say? If you feel that the system didn’t educate you enough to educate your own children, don’t put them through the same system?

That is so fucking arrogant and poorly thought through… Why blame the system for your ignorance? If you’re stupid, it’s not the system’s fault. You’re stupid with or without the system. But maybe you’re not stupid? Maybe you just weren’t a good student? I happened to do pretty well in school. Without much work, I always performed better than average, and I know of some other people who performed just as well. We went to an average school, but with work (granted not so much by me because my laziness is more significant than my intelligence) we did well for ourselves. But there were others there who weren’t so bright, and never performed well. I can easily imagine those people blaming the school for their ignorance, but they would be wrong.

So this meme seems to imply that your ignorance is enough to justify your choice to home-school your children. (Dunning-Kruger in action.) And that’s wrong. If you’re ignorant, you don’t have enough information to make any such choice. Home schooling is schooling by idiots for idiots, and produces idiots even more ignorant than the idiot parents who impose that poor choice on their children. Don’t do it. Your children deserve better than that… Maybe not the same schools that you attended, but the best that you can afford is the sensible and responsible choice.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Family, Parenting, Skepticism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

