An expensive Sunday that benefitted the boy, the hamster and the cat

Billy is my son’s hamster. We chose him about two months ago. But the cage was the cheapest I could find, and my son was not too pleased with it. (According to him, Billy wasn’t too chuffed with it either.) He’s been nagging me to get a better cage ever since, and I finally gave in today. I would have preferred to wait until he’s living with me again, which will happen in December. But in the meantime, he is living with three other children who have hamsters, and his cage was the smallest.

Well, not anymore, not by a long way. This monstrosity set me back R1200. But seeing the smile on my son’s face was worth it. (As a bonus, the clear cage makes it easier to find Billy, and this cage is easy to clean.)

Billy loves his new home. You can’t see him in the photo, but he is asleep in his wheel, which clips onto the outside of the cage.

WP_20151025_001

And my cat, of course, has found the box that the cage arrived in. He’s a big cat, but the cage, and hence the box, is huge…

WP_20151025_004

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Family, Parenting, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

