Welcome new readers

I see there are a few new readers thanks to this article being republished on The Real Edition. I’ve never really been interested in writing anywhere else, but it seems I should publish more there to get more exposure.

Since you don’t know your way around here, feel free to read the About page. In a nutshell, I’m an ex addict who does not like the term “recovering addict”, who is totally opposed to 12 steps plans, and a vocal atheist. (Maybe antitheist is a better label, but I don’t really like labels.)

If I do publish any more to The Real Edition, it will be in the context of recovery from an atheist and skeptic’s point of view. I do not accept that addiction is a disease, and have seen no evidence to support that idea. When I attended rehab and an outpatient program a while ago, I was presented with Dr Kevin McCauley’s Pleasure Unwoven DVD as evidence of addiction being a disease. Evidence that was not evidence at all, but is accepted at face value by many in the addiction treatment business. While that video and the lectures of Dr McCauley do contain useful scientific and medical information about addiction, the idea that addiction is a disease is “sold” by a somewhat deceitful technique, the avowel of prior skepticism. That’s followed by an amusing straw man of the so-called “choice argument”, and the rest of the video is littered with fallacies and bad arguments. Be wary of addiction treatment. It is filled with woo. Maybe an article specializing in recovery woo is in order, sometime in future. Keep coming back! (Apologies for the NA reference. I hate NA but couldn’t resist.)

I hope you stick around and enjoy what you read here.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Methamphetamine, Recovery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

