A short rant. The annoying videos that get recommended for me on YouTube

A bonus post for the day… The main one is this, a movie review. This post is just a little extra about something on the internet that annoys me.

It’s difficult to find good movies to download, so lately what I do is watch random movie-related videos on YouTube to get an idea of what’s out there, then Google things such as best horror movies 2015, which gives a good selection and starting place to read reviews. I decided to download It Follows after watching a watchmojo.com video about the top 10 hottest horror babes and reading the review a couple of days later.

But the problem with that YouTube channel is that they tend to repeat the same movies in a bunch of different videos, and some annoying biases come through. Like there’s loads of videos raving about how fucking wonderful the Underworld franchise is. I happened to hate Underworld. I mean, as much as I could watch Kate Beckinsale running around in tights for hours (No really, I could perv over her all day), those movies still suck. Vampires with guns? Why? because they were ripping off movies like The Matrix, that’s why. Also, I happen to be of the opinion that shortening lycanthrope to lycan and then throwing the term around like you own it is cheesy. I read that term the first time in a horror comic sometime in the early eighties.

Vampires are supposed to be bloodthirsty monsters, and while they can be cool and sexy too, it just gets silly if they use guns. Of course those movies got farcical real fast. I stopped watching, I think… the second one, when the elder vampire woke up and started chasing the protagonists, in the form of a giant bat.

There are other issues with watchmojo.com. They keep stressing how bad some shitty movie called The Last Airbender was. I don’t care. It’s not like I watch shit anyway.

Then there’s YouTube in general. Now that I’ve spent some time watching top 10 videos, I get recommended other top 10 videos. Like one by a channel with a stupid name, Top Tenz, called “10 magical facts you didn’t know about harry Potter”. Um, they aren’t magical facts. They may be rules or facts within the fictional world of Harry Potter, but so what? I didn’t even like Harry Potter, so I stopped watching after the first movie. The main character was boring and dull. He didn’t even do any good magic, but surrounded himself with others who did. Seeing the first movie was enough to convince me not to watch the rest.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

