A new pet peeve. The so-called dark web

I don’t really have much to write about today – just felt the need to have something other than Why be a cunt? show up as my most recent post. Funny how such a post gets me so many views… Maybe I should write the one I’ve been thinking of… the collection of not politically correct opinions I have. But not today.

I seem to be running into more and more references to the “dark web” or deep web, whatever the fuck they call it. It’s almost like, people like to think that there is something more, something sinister, something dangerous, nefarious and exciting. Fuck, maybe even something evil out there, lurking below the veneer of the dull, drab bullshit that we see every day. The deep dark web…. Ooohhh.

So I log into YouTube and get recommended shit like this:

deepshit

Urgh. Horrifying? Yep. Horrifying that this artsy fartsy juvenile junk gets to take up space on my screen. I fixed it by clicking the little X that pops up “Not interested” when hovered over, right after taking the screen shot to post here.

If you’re one of those who takes all this “dark web” kak seriously, understand this: Yes, there are loads of webs sites and apps on the internet that aren’t indexed properly. Crappy sites without decent domain names, home machines without security, and so forth. They’re not hidden, they’re just either not indexed or maybe public by accident. It’s better if you don’t find them, because they’re not interesting at all. There’s nothing evil or special about any of it, but if you believe that the dark web hides secrets, you’re wrong. Sorry.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Skepticism. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A new pet peeve. The so-called dark web

Leave a Reply

