I don’t believe in karma, but stupidity always has consequences

A short interruption from my current series…

I’ve seen mixed reactions to the Ashley Madison hack news… Some people are judging the users, some are not, so here’s my two cents… Fuck ’em!

As someone who was cheated on in the past, I know how much it hurts. But everybody should know that nothing on the internet can be assumed to be safe. Nothing. If you’re going to cheat on your spouse, you shouldn’t have to pay for it anyway, and you shouldn’t be leaving a documented record of it in anybody’s database. Idiots.

Interestingly, the hacked data that has become searchable online only allows searching by email address. I find it funny that some people are saying something to the effect of “They should at least have used alternative email addresses”. But it’s not as simple as that. It would be easy to download the full data, import it into your own database, and then allow searching on other fields… maybe combinations of first name, last name, country, and so on. The fact that the current ones only allow searching by email address means nothing.

I didn’t know who Josh Dugger was, but he sounds like a despicable person, who still has far more money than he ever deserved to make. I take my hat off to the hackers. Well done!

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Humour and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

