In the land of the blind, nobody understands what the one-eyed man is talking about

I have seen no evidence for God or Jesus because there isn’t any. I keep saying this, but it appears that those with blind faith will never be able to understand.

I have lost count of the number of times I’ve argued with my mother, the number of times I’ve explained my position to her. It never gets anywhere, and even though she freely admits that I am logical, that my thinking is sound, she always returns to her stubborn and unyielding acceptance of Christianity, and about a month later we will have the same argument again, as if my points were never made and nothing I said matters.

What more can I say? She, and others with irrationally impenetrable faith, do not want to understand. There is no difference between your god and any other. The only reason you cling to your belief is that you were taught it in your childhood. If you’d been taught about a different god, you would cling to a different faith. Further, there is no evidence that any “holy” writing about any god is anything more than a description of a god that man created. You can not infer any meaning from any of it. But I might as well be farting against a hurricane.

I don’t do this to insult anybody. But my lack of belief gets insulted daily. I do not understand how anybody can continue to cling to their faith when presented with the rational arguments against it. I can’t speak for all atheists, only myself, when I say that I do not dispute that a god might exist simply because there is no proof one way or the other. But I can say with utmost confidence that every god ever worshipped by mankind does not exist. Every god that we know of, past and present religions included (where the past ones are called myths and the present are called religions), and every teaching of all those gods, can be traced back to humankind and humankind alone. Thus rejecting the religion of my parents was easy in the end.

A challenge for the faithful

If you truly, sincerely believe in any religion, I ask just one thing of you. This is a simple thought exercise to illustrate my point, which I’ll break down into steps to make it easier to read:

  1. Find an online forum of a different religion. (Any web site where the religious of a particular faith ask advice from each other, as long as it is not your religion.) Then read what the faithful, of a different faith, have to say. Do not participate in their forum – this is only a thought exercise.
  2. Look at the similarities in their attitudes (to those of your own) and way of expressing their belief, the conviction of the believers – look at how they blindly accept that their faith is the true faith.
  3. If you can find any, read their personal insights – anecdotes that state how their personal relationship with their god has helped them in their daily lives.
  4. Take note of the way that they are able to see signs that, to them, confirm the existence and the presence of their god – the same signs that to you signify the existence of your god.
  5. Notice how they can give advice on all manner of subjects by quoting passages from their holy book, quoted with love and reverence, and taken to be meaningful, deep and relevant to every aspect of their lives, regardless of the context of the original writing.
  6. Imagine how you would explain to them that your religion is right and theirs is wrong.
  7. Compare your holy book to theirs and try to come up with a reasonable argument that could be presented to them to accept yours but reject their own, on the condition that you may not refer to anything written in your book – it would be circular reasoning to use your holy book to justify your belief in it so you must find a way of convincing them without referring to the book itself. (But they may refer to theirs. That’s the position atheists often finds themselves in. Remember that this is only a thought exercise. I’m not asking you to troll their forum.)
  8. Then ask yourself in all honesty why your religion is right but theirs is wrong. Ask yourself if maybe, just maybe, both are wrong. Then ask yourself if all religions are wrong.
About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Skepticism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to In the land of the blind, nobody understands what the one-eyed man is talking about

  1. Hi Jerome
    You’ve put your finger on the age old problem for atheists who are bound by reason and logic, but as John Loftus once said, “you can’t expect to argue them out of their religion, because they were never argued into it in the first place”. You can carry on banging your head against a brick wall, or you can walk away and leave them to their delusions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jerome says:

      You’re right… Except for my mother. She is staying with me (long story but she has no place to go and lives on a pitiful pension) so she brings it up every now and then, especially in the context of her belief that I should take my son to church.

      Like

      • A whole new version of the sins of the father. Don’t confuse her guilt with what you know is right. Every generation that is saved from corruption hastens the demise of religion. Stick to your guns and explain to your mother that she is entitled to you believe what she wants to believe, but she has no right to dictate what you or your son should believe.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. “There are more things existing and happening than any human or all humans
    together know or can know.” Do you agree ?

    Like

    • Jerome says:

      Yes, I agree. But that doesn’t mean that we should resort to making shit up, or blindly accept what primitive people made up thousands of years ago and then passed down through indoctrination. Science is the best way that I know of, to find that which we do not know. Of course science does not give us all the answers, and I am happy to say that there are some things I realize that I will never know. I don’t need to put a god in the gaps, and if I did feel the need for one, it would not be any of the gods that man has invented.

      Like

    • Jerome says:

      Sorry if my first response seems arrogant. Your comment is ambiguous, and could be seen as the first part of a “god of the gaps” argument. Theists often start that way, and then slide down that slippery slope.

      Interesting blog, by the way. Logic and mysticism… Will be interesting to see where you go with it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Jerome, Actually I am happy to read your response. You are right that ” god of the gaps” argument starts this way.
        I suppose that you like to follow logic, then you can see that my comment was not ambiguous. You saw there what was not there.
        Thank you for liking my blog. I am not going anywhere with it, there is no hidden agenda. I mean exactly what I write, nothing more and nothing less.
        Did you understand the first paragraph of the post,”What exists and what is perceived to exist” ? Please read it critically and strictly logically and leave a comment there if you please.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Jerome says:

          I’ll do that when I get a chance. I browse with my smart phone data at home, and it’s running low this time of the month…

          With regard to “recognising arguments”, I have a post in mind about that, with a title possibly of “Skepticism and credulity: Two sides of the same coin?”. I’ve realized that by recognizing logical fallacies as well as argument “patterns” (in that certain types of arguments are often presented the same way), I’m utilizing the pattern-recognition part of my brain. It seems possible that this is the same part of the brain that can recognize false patterns like pareidolia and seeing signs that confirm beliefs in magic. So I wonder if being skeptical and thinking freely accesses the same part of the brain somehow as those who are credulous and believe in all kinds of nonsense. (That’s all I have though – an idea – not enough for a post yet.)

          Like

  3. Oh, I like a person who puts logic and truth above other things. I appreciate honesty in thinking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

