A little play on words challenge

Just a quick one this morning and then I must get to work… It always surprises me when I write something that I think is good, then it doesn’t get many views. It shouldn’t though, as there aren’t many people reading this anyway.

I thought yesterday’s post was really good – not the topic so much, but the words used to write it. I have this thing about alliteration (and overuse it almost as much as parenthesis) so I was especially pleased with the phrase “startled me out of my stupor with an acutely arbitrary question” because it contains both alliteration and an oxymoron.

So as I drove to work this morning, I wondered if I could come up with another. Then straight away I came up with one better:

I used to be fighting fit but now I’m fighting fat.

Yah, it’s not that great, I know. But I like it. I’m not going to try to build a topic to go around it, so I’ll just leave it at that. I like it because it is an example of alliteration, an oxymoron and a pun. (Although it isn’t an oxymoron and a pun at once, since the pun’s other meaning removes the oxymoron.)

So for the 10 or so people who actually read this… I’d love to see your contributions in the comments. My requirement is, write a sentence where two or more of the words form at least:

  1. Alliteration
  2. An oxymoron
  3. A pun

To be clear, those three are the minimum requirements. It doesn’t have to end there. If you can come up with anything clever that includes other kinds of word-play, please feel free to share.

(Honestly, I don’t know if this is a difficult challenge. I came up with my example right away, but the pun was a fluke. I think that the pun requirement makes it harder, since oxymorons are easy, and so is alliteration, as are puns generally, but all three at once is a stretch. But it’s also fun… in my opinion word-plays are better when done using a combination of stylistic or literary devices because not every reader always catches them all.)

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Humour and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A little play on words challenge

  1. Jerome says:

    I wanted to add another example, but maybe it’s harder than I thought. Every time I’ve taken a break today, I’ve tried to think of another one and failed quite miserably…

    My closest attempt goes like this:
    I hate my phone. For real, if I hold it in my hand and walk around, it reboots itself (ever since I had the touchscreen replaced at one of those Pakistani cellphone shops). I could say that “My immobile mobile must be removed and replaced.” So yah, oxymoron… check. Alliteration… check. Pun… Fail. (Unless you count remove as a pun on move, which it really isn’t.)

    So maybe the one from this morning was just a lucky fluke.

    Like

Leave a Reply

