I should have known. Batman versus Superman: Kryptonite confirmed

It was just confirmed on this site that Kryptonite will feature in the plot of the upcoming Dawn of Justice movie.

I’ve been a Superman fan since quite early childhood. I had hundreds of comics and I used to look at the pictures before I learned to read. So I really loved the Man of Steel movie when it came out. But I have mixed feelings about the upcoming sequel. I stopped reading comics back in 1984 when I was 12 years old, and in the comics I knew and loved, Superman and Batman were best friends. I haven’t read any of the newer comics where they are enemies, and I do get it – the plot I mean. The idea that absolute power corrupts and Superman could be a threat. But I foresee the movie having major plot holes and potentially being one huge fuck-up. It could all go so wrong, after all, he saved the entire planet in the first movie. To turn all that around may lead to an entertaining movie, but one with a story that’s just too weak.

Maybe it’s just me, but I like a movie to convince the child within me; I like to suspend my disbelief for a couple of hours. I have a bad feeling that like the third instalment of the Dark Knight saga, which was nearly three hours of tedium in which I predicted everything that would follow in the first fifteen minutes – then sat bored waiting for the inevitable to happen, this new Batman versus Superman movie will disappoint. (Actually I must find my review I wrote of that movie on my old blog… It was titled “The Dark Shite Rises – Eventually”.)

I hope I’m wrong. But Kryptonite? One of the cleverest parts of bringing the Superman story up to date in the recent movie was the exclusion of Kryptonite, which is the worst part of the Superman story. (Why would a bit of rock from his exploded home planet be his weakness? It’s the weakest part of the story.) As a commenter pointed out on the site I linked to, it’s the “worst part of the Superman mythology in all it’s ugly green glory”. It’s going to feel like a cheesy add-on, included too late in the game, only because it’s the last card to play after inadvertently creating a character that’s invincible.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

