Why is it so important to be politically correct?

Why?

I just stumbled onto this article about Iggy Azalea apologising for homophobic comments made in the past (which got her dropped from performing at a pride event). Her apology looks sincere to me…

Haven’t we all said something dumb? Didn’t we all insult people for the wrong reasons in the past? I know I did. I know that I made homophobic comments, and racist comments, and even misogynistic comments when I was much younger. Then I grew up. I grew to realize that we are all equal and that all generalizations are wrong, and all prejudice is wrong. I grew up to have some good friendships with people whose skin is not the same colour as mine, and people who happen to be sexually attracted to the same sex; I grew up to understand that homosexuality is completely natural and part of nature, not only human nature. And to my surprise I grew up to be prefer female friendships and company because, let’s face it, women are often more intelligent and interesting than men.

Of course I’m not a celebrity and my past comments were not recorded for all posterity. But even so, sometimes crass comments, sometimes insults are necessary. Sometimes it is better not to be politically correct.

If somebody is unfair to me, if they hurt me personally and attack me unfairly, I can (and will in future) use whatever words come to mind to hurt them back. The difference is that nobody judges me too harshly because of it.

Likewise, we shouldn’t have to be politically correct all the time. I will not hesitate saying that those photos of Caitlin Jenner that have been appearing all over the internet creep me the fuck out. It doesn’t mean that I am prejudiced against LGBT people to say that that person looks fucking creepy. If you must change your gender, good for you, but why not at least look your age? And their whole exhibitionistic family who are so plastic and fake just annoy me. My ex loves everything Kardashian, and I do not understand why… We are in South Africa for goodness sake, and should not care what some vacuous, rich trashy Americans put out there about themselves.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Skepticism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

