An example of Christian racism that sickens me (And a video that asks a question that will never be taken seriously by those asked.)

I just read an article about racial discrimination on an American flight.

It truly sickens me. The last few months have brought waves of this type of shit; Christian Americans who hate others and treat them as if they are subhuman. On some level it is part and parcel of religion to hate the rest – all religions do it and most theists have their blinkers on. After all, if you are not my religion, you don’t believe in the one true god and therefore your life is worthless. That’s what it comes down to, but most theists don’t shove it in your face quite so brazenly. Most are devoted to their own religion and hide their prejudice in public, presenting themselves as good people even if they in reality are smug and believe themselves superior.

But this last few months, Christian extremists have been coming out of the woodwork everywhere online, like a vile infestation. Hatred against Muslims, gays and women, the blaming of victims (Josh Duggar)… To be fair Islam has homophobia built right into it too but that’s not my main point for today.

Why all the hatred from the faithful? Can’t they see that their true religion is just as true for all believers in all other religions? (Of course not.)

Check out this cleverly done video that I hadn’t seen before, entitled “Dear believer, Why do you believe?”

Actually whatever I read online, regardless of the subject matter, there are always stupid Christian Americans arguing in the comments, trolling each other and breaking everything down in terms of their political parties, as if there is no other country in the world, and no view that can’t be reduced to one that backs one of two political parties. Everywhere I read the same ignorant false dichotomy argued by yet more dumb Americans. (Why is it a false dichotomy? Because following those two political parties is not only irrelevant to most of your arguments; they also exclude most views and in any case you are caricaturing the opposing party view. i.e. You’re attacking an irrelevant straw man.)

(To be clear, I’m not dissing Americans in general. Some of my favourite writers, scientists and skeptics are American. It’s mostly the idiot bigot comment warriors that piss me off.)

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Skepticism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An example of Christian racism that sickens me (And a video that asks a question that will never be taken seriously by those asked.)

  1. Redacted says:

    Hello! I’ve been reading your site for a long time now and finally got the bravery
    to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Tx!
    Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

    Like

    • Jerome says:

      As much as I appreciate positive comments, I find it really strange that you give me a shout out from Huffman, Texas – yet the website you linked to is in Toronto, Canada. Please comment again to indicate that you are a real person, or I’ll be forced to assume this is comment SPAM and delete it in a day or two.

      Update: It is SPAM, and quite clever too. I found some almost identical comments elsewhere:

      Hey there! I’ve been following your blog for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the great job!

      And:

      Hello! I’ve been reading your blog for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent job!

      And:

      Hi! I’ve been reading your website for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic work!

      As a general rule, generic compliments in comments are SPAM. They usually use a link to an ad as the commenter’s “website”. Since it’s only one link, it’s often not detected by SPAM filters. In this case, the comments were built programmatically from a template, by a despicable program that posts comments in bulk to blogs. There are many other examples. I’m leaving the comment here for educational purposes, after removing the spammer’s URL and mailto link of course.

      Two years ago Scott Hanselman wrote about such a template. This is clearly generated from that template, which the spammers are still using. Here is the relevant bit that generated all of those comments:

      {Hola|Hey there|Hi|Hello|Greetings}! I’ve been {following|reading} your {site|web site|website|weblog|blog} for {a long time|a while|some time} now and finally got the {bravery|courage} to go ahead and give you
      a shout out from {New Caney|Kingwood|Huffman|Porter|Houston|Dallas|Austin|Lubbock|Humble|Atascocita} {Tx|Texas}!
      Just wanted to {tell you|mention|say} keep up the {fantastic|excellent|great|good}
      {job|work}!

      Like

  2. I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d

    Like

Leave a Reply

